So, you want to move to Korea?


A map of the hemisphere centred on Korea, usin...

Last week, I had a friend from high-school get in touch with me about what it’s like to teach in Korea and what she has to do to come here. She makes the fourth person who has asked for info. I have decided to make a “Korea or Bust” series of blog posts. These posts will include basic information, interviews, and a list of essential survival must haves.

About travelingenglishteacher

I want to see how many things I can cross off my travel bucket list in five years.
This entry was posted in Asia, How to get here and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So, you want to move to Korea?

  1. Carrie K says:

    I get a lot of people asking me too! I’ll just have to send them to your blog! 😀

  2. Raquel says:

    About the job: fairly easy if you want it to be easy. If you like to be independent, think on your feet, be creative and just have fun with other people then its the job for you.

    About living in Korea: its modern! Food is cheap and getting around is easy. Koreans treat foreigners quite different as its part of hospitality to treat a guest nice. With that said it’s important to be concientious of one’s actions and be responsible. You get to meet people from all walks of life and different countries because the expat community connects but you have to actively seek that. Overall the expat community is great.

    Best advice I got: If you’ve thought about it already, just go. Thinking too long you’re wasting time, which is true since you have to get the FBI background check and other paperwork. I didn’t know a thing about Korea when I applied, got the job and even when I was in the Korea Air. In the short time that I was there I learned so much that no time reading in school can provide. To me learning is about experiencing.

    Yes there will be ups and downs just like you could at home. The difference is that at the end of the day the reward is greater, you prove to yourself that you can live in a different place and culture than your own, survive, and trive. You learn so much about yourself and you grow in many ways.

    So go for it.

    Suerte!

Leave a Reply

